Vedic Time System





Edit History Discussion

Encyclopedia Of Indian History!

Welcome to Historical India! Historical India is a community project where anyone can join and edit articles. Contribute to open source community project and help create encyclopedia of the Indian history. Feel free to submit interesting articles, write references from cool book you just read, or just create an article on your favorite historical figure.


Editor's Search


Documentation Reference

Join Now!

Where to start?

Introduction For Beginners

Ways To Contribute


Vedic Time System

The Vedas - ancient holy scripture describes units of time. This is the proven evidence that Indians had developed the most accurate and oldest time measurement system. It contains the measurement of time ranging from microseconds to trillions of years.

Hindu units of time are described in Hindu texts ranging from microseconds to trillions of years, including cycles of cosmic time that repeat general events in Hindu cosmology. Time (kla) is described as eternal. Various fragments of time are described in the Vedas, ManusmritiBhagavata PuranaVishnu PuranaMahabharataSurya Siddhanta etc.

Small units of time used in the Vedas

truti ()base unit 0.30 s

renu () 60 truti 18 s

lava () 60 renu 1080 s

lkaka () / 60 lava 64.8 ms

lipta () / 64.8 lkaka 0.4 s

vipala () / pala () / 60 lipta 24 s

vighai () / vind () / ghai () / 60 vighai 1.44 ks (24 min)

nd () / danda () / muhrta () / 2 ghai 2.88 ks (48 min)

nakhatra ahortram (sidereal day;  ) / 60 gha 86.4 ks (24 hrs)

Large units of time used in the Vedas

Kaliyuga = 4,32,000 human years

Dwaparayuga = 8,64,000 human years

Tretayuga = 12,96,000 human years

Kritayuga = 17,28,000 human years

1 Chaturyuga = 43,20,000 human years

1000 Chaturyuga = 4,320,000,000 human years = 1 daytime of Brahma = one Mahayuga

1000 Chaturyuga = 4,320,000,000 human years = 1 night-time of Brahma

1 Brahma full day = 8,640,000,000 human years

1 Brahma month = 30 x 8,640,000,000 = 259,200,000,000 human years

1 Brahma year = 12 x 259,200,000,000 = 3,110,400,000,000 human years

Brahma's age = 100 Brahma years = 311,040,000,000,000 human years

1 Brahma day = 14 manvantara = 1000 Chaturyuga = 4,320,00,00,000 human years


A cosmic days includes 14 Period or Manvantaras to 306 720 000 solar years. The next day, a cosmic unity is a Manvantara, there are fourteen pieces. A Manu mastered such a period. We live in the 7th Manvantara. Manvantara the first 6 have gone, 7 more will come. In particular, their names are:

01. Svaayambhuva  son of the self-born (here began the creation)

02. Svaarochisha  son of the Self Shining

03. Uttama  Son of the Most High

04. Taamasa  Son of Darkness

05. Raivata  son of wealth

06. Chaakshusha  son of the vision (this was the Quirlung instead of the milk ocean)

07. Vaivasvata  Vaivasvata is the son of the Sun God. <- We currently live here.

08. Arka Saavarni (or Savarnika) stands with the Sun God in relationship

09. Daksha-Saavarni  son of the rituals

10. Brahma-Saavarni  son of Brahma

11. Dharma-Saavarni  Son of the Eternal Law

12. Rudra-Saavarni  son of the Destroyer

13. Deva-Saavarni  Son of the Shining

14. Indra-Saavarni  son of the mighty Indra

How old is the universe on this day of Brahma?

The current Kali Yuga began after the Surya Siddhanta at midnight on a change of 17 at 18 February in the year 3102 BC in the proleptic Julian calendar. Since the beginning of the Kalpa until the year 2005 AD passed:

6 complete Manvantaras: 6 x 710

7-Manvantara twilight before a Manvantara each: 7 x 4

27 complete Mahayugas of the current 7th Manvantara: 27 x 10

3 Elapsed Yugas the current 28th Mahayuga: (4 + 3 + 2) x l

5107 solar years in the current Kali Yuga

Articles you might like to read


We are a group of patriots who love our motherland - Bharat Mata! Historical India is an opensource community based project dedicated to the history of Greater India. Join us to create the encyclopedia of Indian history...

Copyright©2021 All Rights Reserved by Historical India